Our History

The Light Horse Association was formed in 1986 by a group of Army Officers who had served in the 2nd/14th Light Horse Regiment (Queensland Mounted Infantry) and other interested parties who shared similar objectives to preserve the History and Tradition of the Australian Light Horse, and to promote these objectives through the establishment of Australian Light Horse Historical Re-enactment Troops and Light Horse Museums.

The Light Horse Association Ltd. is a registered Company Limited by guarantee and since commencement the Membership has grown steadily and there are currently more that 30 re-enactment Troops in Australia.

Troops throughout Australia are most prominently visible on ANZAC day each year; however, they perform a large number of other tasks during the year which include escorts, displays, parades, re- enactment rides and sporting activities.

Uniforms worn are either those of the 1914 -18 or the 1930 – 40 era. Some Troops concentrate on ceremonial parades by presenting both rider and horse as historically correct for the period they represent, whereas other groups concentrate on Light Horse skills which include, tent pegging, skill at arms, and other riding events.

The “Spur” is the official magazine of the Association which is produced and distributed to Members during the year. The Magazine covers a broad range of topics including historical subjects and current information about the activities of re-enactment Troops.

Past Presidents:

Past Patrons:

Brigadier Colin Wilson OAM RFD ED (Rtd)

1988 – 1992

Sir Sidney Williams OBE ED
Major Robert Freebairn (Rtd)

1992 – 1993

Sir Walter Campbell AC QC BA MA LL.B K.St.J
Robert (Bob) H Smith

1993 – 1994

Brigadier Colin Wilson OAM RFD ED (Rtd)

1994 – 1995

Brigadier Colin Wilson RFD ED (Rtd)
Eric Barter

1996 – 1999

Major General W B “Digger” James AC AO (MIL) MBE MC FRACS
Robert (Bob) Gunning

2000 – 2003

Major General Warren Glenny AO RFD ED

Philip Chalker 

2004 – 2020


Lawrence Watts

2020 – 2023



Life Members

Roy Connell – 9th Light Horse Regiment, 34th Reinforcement WW1
Robert (Bob) Smith – 15th Light Horse Lismore
Jack Scott – 5th Light Horse Gympie
Robert (Bob) Hodby – 2nd Light Horse Beenleigh
Frank Morgan – 6th Light Horse Trundle
Allen Wein – WW1
“Shorty” Murden – 11th Light Horse Stanthorpe 
Robert (Bob) Gunning – 12th Light Horse Quirindi, Past President ALHA  
Brigadier Colin Wilson OAM RFD ED (Rtd)
Eric Barter – Past President ALHA  
Edward (Ted) Hodby – 2nd Light Horse Beenleigh
Lt Colonel Thomas Childs OAM RFD (Rtd) – ALHA Treasurer
Philip Chalker – ALHA Ceremonial & Protocol Officer – 7th Light Horse – Australian Horse
Dale Robertson – 2nd Light Horse 
Barry Rodgers OAM